Skip to content

From the archives

Our Violent National Game

The great hockey debate continues

Pax Atlantica

NATO’s long-lasting relevance

James Pollock

James Pollock is the author of Sailing to Babylon (Able Muse Press, 2012), which was shortlisted for the Griffin Poetry Prize and the Governor General’s Literary Award in Poetry, and You Are Here: Essays on the Art of Poetry in Canada (Porcupine’s Quill, 2012), a finalist for the ForeWord Reviews Book of the Year Award for a collection of essays. He is also the editor of The Essential Daryl Hine (Porcupine’s Quill, 2015), which made Partisan magazine’s list of the best books of 2015. He is a professor of English and creative writing at Loras College in Iowa and lives in Madison, Wisconsin

Articles by
James Pollock

Rhetoric Is Territory

On four new books of poems July-August 2016
The biggest surprise among this spring’s poetry books from McClelland and Stewart is that Tim Lilburn is finally hitting his stride—as a confessional poet. Lilburn has long been a religious nature poet in the tradition of Hopkins and Charles Wright, although never a particularly good one. His early poems have a wild linguistic energy that made them stand out from the plainspoken Canadian verse of the late…